the ed palermo big band

the adventures of zodd zundgren
    - incl. various frank zappa compositions // feat. napoleon murphy brock

2016 cd usa cuneiform records rune 420

recorded in 2016 / 2017

  cliff lyons: reeds
  phil chester: reeds
  bill straub: reeds
  ben kono: reeds
  barbara cifelli: reeds
  ronnie buttacavoli: trumpet
  john bailey: trumpet
  steve jankowski: trumpet
  charles gordon: trombone
  mike boschen: trombone
  matt ingman: trombone
  bob quaranta: piano
  ted kooshian: synths and sampler
  paul adamy: electric bass
  ray marchica: drums
  katie jacoby: electric violin
  bruce mcdaniel: guitar, vocals
special guest
  napoleon murphy brock: vocals

all arrangements by ed palermo, except where noted

produced by bruce mcdaniel
executive producer: ed palermo

  1. the solemn z-men credo
  2. peaches en regalia  (frank zappa)
  3. influenza  (todd rundgren)
  4. yer fast  (todd rundgren)
  5. absolutely free  (frank zappa)
  6. breathless (part 1)  (todd rundgren)
  7. big swifty  (frank zappa, arr. bruce mcdaniel)
  8. kiddie boy  (todd rundgren)
  9. montana  (frank zappa)
  10. emperor of the highway  (todd rundgren)
  11. you are what you is  (frank zappa)
  12. echidna's arf (of you)  (frank zappa, arr. bruce mcdaniel)
  13. hello it's me  (todd rundgren)
  14. big swifty coda  (frank zappa, arr. bruce mcdaniel)
  15. wailing wall  (todd rundgren)
  16. florentine pogen  (frank zappa)
  17. flamingo  (todd rundgren, arr. pierre piscatelli)
  18. marqueson's chicken  (frank zappa)
  19. song of the viking  (todd rundgren)
  20. janet's big dance number  (frank zappa)
  21. broke down and busted  (todd rundgren)
  22. breathless (part 2)  (todd rundgren)
  23. zoot allures  (frank zappa)
  24. yer fast (reprise)  (todd rundgren)