colin towns + ndr bigband

frank zappa's hot licks (and funny smells)
- all compositions by frank zappa

2005 cd ger rent a dog rad 2007-2

recorded 2004/05/31 at the moers festival, germany

colin towns: conductor / arranger
lennart axelsson: trumpet
ingolf burkhardt: trumpet
claus stötter: trumpet
reiner winterschladen: trumpet
dan gottshall: trombone
sebastian hoffmann: trombone
stefan lottermann: trombone
ingo lahme: bass trombone, tuba
fiete felsch: alt sax, clarinet
peter bolte: alt sax
christof lauer: tenor sax
lutz büchner: tenor sax
frank delle: bass sax, soprano sax
vladyslav sendecki: piano, keyboards
stephan diez: guitar
lucas lindholm: bass
marcio doctor: percussion
ian thomas: drums

all compositions by frank zappa, except where noted

  1. introduction & anthem (j.stafford smith, f.scott ken)
  2. peaches en regalia
  3. eat that question
  4. let's make the water turn black
  5. watermelon in easter hay
  6. brown shoes don't make it
  7. willie the pimp
  8. king kong
  9. a pound for a brown (on the bus)
  10. waka jawaka
  11. stevie's spanking
  12. sinister footwear - 2nd mvt
  13. little umbrellas / big swifty
  14. black napkins
  15. be-bop tango
  16. g-spot tornado