sun ra and his space arkestra

springtime in chicago

2006 2cd usa leo records gy 26/27

recorded live in chicago on 1978/09/25

sun ra: organ, synth, beam
john gilmore: tenor sax, clarinet, timbales, vocals
marshall allen: alto sax, piccolo
danny davis: alto sax, flute
eloe omoe (leroy taylor): bass clarinet, flute
danny ray thompson: baritone sax, flute
james jacson: bassoon, flute, egyptian infinity drum
michael ray: trumpet
eddie gale: trumpet
walter miller: trumpet
damon choice: vibes
atakatune (stanley morgan): conga
dale williams: electric guitar
luqman  ali (edward skinner): drums
june tyson: vocals

produced by leo feigin

disc one

  1. untitled improvisation  (sun ra)
  2. springtime in chicago  (sun ra)
  3. astro black  (sun ra)
  4. the world is waiting for the sunrise  (sun ra)
  5. discipline 27  (sun ra)
  6. the shadow world  (sun ra)
  7. yeah man!  (sissle, henderson)
  8. queer notions  (c.hawkins)

disc two

  1. big john's special  (henderson)
  2. somewhere over the rainbow  (arlen, harburg)
  3. lights on a satellite  (sun ra)
  4. body and soul  (heyman, green, sour, eaton)
  5. king porter stomp  (morton)
  6. second stop is jupiter  (sun ra)
  7. space is the place  (sun ra)
  8. enightenment  (d.hobart jr., sun ra)
  9. next stop mars  (sun ra)
  10. calling planet earth  (sun ra)