(2001, cd, usa, unheard music series ums/alp222cd)

sun ra arkestra

nuclear war

1984  cd italy y records

tracks 1 & 4 were originally issued in 1982 as a 12" single on y records in the uk
this is the 1982 12" plus some extra tracks

    (2001, cd, usa,
unheard music series ums/alp222cd)

recorded at variety recording studios, new york, september 1982

sun ra: piano, synthsizer, organ, vocals
june tyson: vocals
john gilmore: tenor saxophone
marshall allen: alto saxophone, flute
danny ray thompson: baritone sax, flute
james jacson: bassoon, infinity drum
walter miller: trumpet
tyrone hill: trombone, vocals
vincent chancey: french horn
hayes burnett: bass
samarai celestial: drums
atakatune: conga, percussion

all compositions by sun ra, except where noted

  1. nuclear war

  2. retrospect

  3. drop me off in harlem  (d.ellington)

  4. sometimes i'm happy  (youmans / caesar)

  5. celestial love

  6. blue intensity

  7. nameless one no.2

  8. smile  (chaplin)