(2010, download, - , crossfire publications)
(2011, flash-drive, usa, crossfire publications)

various artists

paul buff presents the pal and original sound studio archives, vol.9
- feat.contributions by frank zappa

2010 download - crossfire publications

    (2011, flash-drive, usa, crossfire publications) = the complete 35 album series, with bonus liner notes on pdf and 56 extra tracks

various tracks recorded by Paul Buff

  1. the buff organization: sunshine girl (long version)

  2. the biscaines: gas house rock

  3. the esquires: flashing red

  4. the buff organization: thinking of you (version 2)

  5. arty & the supremes: bruno

  6. dino dupree & the pharaohs: hi-fi mama

  7. the masters / chester martin: come back my love (double-tracked vocal)

  8. the masters / chester martin: let me love you

  9. sonny wilson: drowning in an ocean of tears

  10. the biscaines: summertime

  11. the tornadoes: the tornado

  12. dino dupree & the pharaohs: why jean why

  13. the hollywood persuaders: juarez (single mix)

  14. the rhythm surfers (the pharos): steel wheels

  15. ricky dean: little betty limbo (alternate version)

  16. paul buff: cause i love you

  17. the fatimas: sandstorm

  18. indescribably delicious: is it love

  19. the tired 4: don't let this happen to you (edit)

liner notes by Greg Russo:

Welcome to Volume 9 of Paul Buff's 20-volume series of recordings from Pal Studios and Original Sound Studios! Pal Records was a record company run by his mother Olivia and stepfather Ward Allen. After Paul Buff was honorably discharged from the military, he finished putting together Pal Studios in December 1957. The studio costs were $12.50/hour for mono recording and $15/hour for stereo. Local musicians booked the studio to make recordings of their rehearsals and repertoire. When Pal Records wound itself down in mid-1959, Paul Buff created his first record label - Emmy. Other labels (Plaza, Yukon and Vigah!) would follow shortly thereafter. The music presented on this series was released on extremely rare records that would literally cost thousands if you can find them. In addition, there are many unreleased tracks spanning from 1960 to 1969. Paul Buff is now making them available again for everyone to appreciate.

Even though The Buff Organization released only one single in the '60s, Paul and Allison Buff recorded a lot of unreleased material. Two unissued masters, "Sunshine Girl" and "Thinking Of You," debut here. "Sunshine Girl" was one of Paul Buff's best songs, and it has the full 1967 treatment. Volume 7 featured Paul's vocal on "Thinking Of You," but this version has Allison singing over a completely different backing track. You decide!

Both sides of The Biscaines' "Gas House Rock"/ "Summertime" acetate from Pal are featured on this volume. Energetic performances all around on these! The Durby Wheeler-led Esquires were just teenagers when they laid down "Flashing Red"/ "What A Burn" at Pal in 1963. They issued the record themselves on their Durco label. "Flashing Red" is here, while the B-side will turn up later.

Arty & The Supremes' "Bruno" was a vocal number about a dog of the same name. While nowhere near as stunning as the A-side "Hombre," we have to be complete here! Dino Dupree's two other 1960 demos ("Hi-Fi Mama" and "Why Jean Why") are also on this volume. These are the two vocal cuts that accompanied the instrumentals "Chaser" and "Jive 'N" on previous volumes.

Also on previous volumes, you've heard The Masters' backing tracks of "Come Back My Love" and "Let Me Love You." Here, we finally hear Chester Martin's vocals on them. "Come Back My Love" was done with one vocal and with two. The double-tracked version is here.

Sonny Wilson's "Drowning In An Ocean Of Tears" is different than all his other unreleased tracks thanks to the harmonica that runs throughout. Dave Aerni wrote "The Tornado" for his management client The Tornadoes, who recorded it as a drum showcase for Leonard Delaney. It was engineered by Frank Zappa.

The Rhythm Surfers were previously known as The Pharos, and the latter name was the one that appeared on the acetate for Aerni's road song "Steel Wheels." Produced by Aerni and Frank Zappa, "Steel Wheels" makes its released debut right here.

Ricky Dean's "Little Betty Limbo" was written by Paul Buff and was demoed at Pal Studios, but the final version was laid down at Radio Recorders. It was released on Donna as the B-side of "Little Girl." But, that's not the version that we have here. This is a version with additional instrumentation that has never been released.

Paul Buff's "Cause I Love You" was the flip of his 1965 Original Sound single "She's Got A 60 Cycle Brain." One of Buff's most accessible songs, "Cause I Love You" could have been covered by Ricky Nelson if he knew about it!

The Fatimas' "Sandstorm" is one of those mystery recordings that no one knows much about after all this time. What is known that Southern California DJ "Emperor" Bob Hudson wrote the track with Richard D. Grove and Joe Petagno. When it was submitted to Art Laboe of Original Sound, it was done under the title "Hoochy Coo" with a female vocal group. Since there was only one side of a potential single, Art Laboe wanted to create an instrumental side that emphasized the song's striking Arabic feel. So, Laboe asked Paul Buff to add some sound effects to the supplied backing track and out came "Sandstorm." Those effects actually made "Sandstorm" the much better side of the resulting single in 1967. Hudson passed away in September 1997 at the age of 66.

From the engineering desk, Paul Buff recorded lots of music for Bill Holmes and his All-American label. One of the tracks that was unreleased at the time was "Is It Love" by Indescribably Delicious. Written and sung by Greg Munford, the voice of Strawberry Alarm Clock's "Incense And Peppermints," "Is It Love" is an excellent period piece. Paul Buff was very impressed by Munford's abilities and engineered many of Greg's tracks.

In the "off-the-wall" department, stick four people in a room at a strange hour and you get The Tired 4's "Don't Let This Happen To You"! If you listen carefully, you can hear Paul and Allison Buff among the mayhem. The original track was cut down to a more manageable length for this release, and this collage includes pieces of the songs "Somethin' Stupid," "Fascination Waltz" and "Drums A-Go-Go" - that is, if you can recognize them!